Postnet Suite #21, Private Bag X04, Fontainebleau, 2032, South Africa

Mokoena becomes Athletes Commission chairperson

SASCA Board member Khotso Mokoena has been elected as chairperson newly-formed SASCOC Athletes Commission. Canoeist Bridgitte Hartley was elected deputy chairperson.

Elections to the Athletes Commission were held last month, where SASCOC 1st vice-president Ms Lwandile Simelane, formally constituted the Commission and assisted with the elections of the Chairperson and Deputy Chair.

The Commission also co-opted three members from non-Olympic sport and winter sport to have a balance and ensure the Commission has a wide array of athletes from different sport. The three co-opted members were: Bongi Msomi – Netball (non-Olympic), Amanda Dlamini – Football (Olympic) and Phumelelo Mbande – Hockey (Olympic). This brings the number of athletes in the Athletes Commission to a total of 10.

The SASCOC President, Mr Barry Hendricks, who also attended the election, congratulated all the elected members of the Athletes Commission and wished them well in their roles and responsibilities as the voice of the athletes.

The members of the Athletes Commission will be inducted from 7-8 May at a venue to be confirmed. By being elected Chairperson of the Athletes Commission, Mokoena, whose achievements included South Africa’s sole medal at the 2008 Olympics and a gold in the triple jump at the 2014 Commonwealth Games, automatically becomes a member of the SASCOC Board who represents the athletes.

On behalf of Ms Simelane and Natalie du Toit, outgoing Chairperson of the Athletes Commission and the former Athletes Commission, sincere gratitude to all those that were involved in making the election a success was conveyed.